





June 1, 2023

The Honorable Dave Min Chair, Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee 1021 O Street, Suite 3220 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: Assembly Bill 1526 (Natural Resources Committee) – SUPPORT As Amended April 20, 2023

Dear Senator Min:

On behalf of the Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC), League of California Cities (CalCities), and the California State Association of Counties (CSAC) we support Assembly Bill 1526, the Assembly Natural Resources Committee Bill.

Assembly Bill 1526 makes several minor, but important clarifying changes to last year's Senate Bill 54 (Allen, Chapter 75, Statutes of 2022), which establishes a comprehensive program for collection, management, and recycling of single use packaging and single-use plastic food service ware.

Several clarifications were sought by our organizations and agreed upon by stakeholders last year, but could not be incorporated into the final version of SB 54 because of time and scheduling constraints. Some of those changes provide flexibility by correctly reflecting that not all collection processes and mechanisms will involve curbside collection. Other modifications clarify that the producer responsibility organization's plan must include a mechanism and schedule for transferring funds to local jurisdictions to reimburse locals for the costs of program implementation, as is the foundational requirement of SB 54. These are important clarifications that will go a long way to ensuring that SB 54 can be implemented effectively and equitably.

For these reasons, we are pleased to support AB 1526. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at <a href="mailto:jkennedy@rcrcnet.org">jkennedy@rcrcnet.org</a>, <a href="mailto:nromo@calcities.org">nromo@calcities.org</a>, or <a href="mailto:awaelder@counties.org">awaelder@counties.org</a>.

The Honorable Dave Min Assembly Bill 1526 June 1, 2023 Page 2

Sincerely,

JOHN KENNEDY

Policy Advocate

RCRC

**NICK ROMO** 

Legislative Representative

**CalCities** 

ADA AWELDER
Legislative Advocate

CSAC

cc: The Honorable Ben Allen, Chair, Senate Environmental Quality Committee
Members of the Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee
Members of the Senate Environmental Quality Committee
Catherine Baxter, Consultant, Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee
Brynn Cook, Consultant, Senate Environmental Quality Committee
Todd Moffitt, Consultant, Senate Republican Caucus
Scott Seekatz, Consultant, Senate Republican Caucus
Elizabeth MacMillan, Consultant, Assembly Natural Resources Committee